Health Advocate Blog

Recipe: Pineapple-Teriyaki Chicken

From EatingWell

Grilled teriyaki chicken with pineapple can be made with just a few pantry staples. Although it’s delicious when made with canned pineapple, fresh pineapple and its juice can easily be used in its place. Serve with brown rice and your veggie of choice. Snow peas, broccoli, bok choy, carrots and bell peppers are all great options with this meal.


Makes 4 servings

⅓ cup dry sherry

¼ cup reduced-sodium soy sauce

2 tablespoons brown sugar

12 oz. can of pineapple rings, plus 1/3 cup juice from the can

4 large boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 1 1/2 pounds), trimmed

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1 tablespoon butter


Active time 30 minutes

Total time 45 minutes

  1. Whisk sherry, soy sauce, brown sugar and the 1/3 cup pineapple juice in a large bowl. Add pineapple rings and chicken and gently stir to coat. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, preheat grill to medium-high.
  3. Remove the chicken and pineapple from the marinade and pat dry; reserve the marinade. Oil the grill rack. Grill the chicken and pineapple until the chicken is cooked through and the pineapple is marked, 4 to 5 minutes per side.
  4. Whisk the reserved marinade and cornstarch in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and cook, whisking, until reduced and thickened, 2 to 4 minutes. Stir in butter. Serve the chicken and pineapple drizzled with the sauce.


  • To quickly trim boneless, skinless chicken thighs, use kitchen shears to snip the fat away from the meat.
  • Oiling a grill rack before you grill foods helps ensure that the food won’t stick. Oil a folded paper towel, hold it with tongs and rub it over the rack. (Do not use cooking spray on a hot grill.) When grilling delicate foods like tofu and fish, it is helpful to spray the food with cooking spray.
  • Use dry sherry instead of “cooking sherry” in recipes calling for sherry. It adds depth of flavor to sauces, soups and stews without adding extra salt that’s in cooking sherry.
  • People with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled “gluten-free,” as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.

© Meredith Corporation. All rights reserved. Used with permission.